We are Worthy of your Calendar!

A chess players first chess club is like your first love – they may no longer be a part of your life, but you’ll never forget them.

I’ll never forget the first club I was a part of. At the age of 17 my dad and I walked into the University of Toronto Mississauga and after going through the building like rats in a maze, we eventually made it to the front double doors of a big yet comfortable lounge room. As I stood at the door it was love at first sound…not sight. Two beautiful melodies were waltzing into my ears. First, the unmistakable sound of chess pieces landing on their square moved by speed and rapid chess players, sometimes in collision with their enemy counterparts. And lastly, the slamming of these ancient devices.

 

 

ChessClock2

How many of you still remember playing chess with these? 🙂

 

I spent a few years playing at the Mississauga Chess Club and it was one of the best chess experiences in my life. I made a lot of new friends – including one whom I’m still friends with to this very (CoughTomCough) day. I grew a lot in ELO strength – a good 200+ points, and most of all I maximized my fun by being there constantly every week with the help of my dad. I remember dad would drop me off and had to mark it on his calendar to make sure he wouldn’t forget to pick me up! It became part of his daily routine and he was happy to be a part of that experience I was going through.

 

At the Etobicoke Chess Club, we believe we are worthy of being put on your calendar! Whether it’s to play tournament games, have a couple of relaxing casual matches or watch and socialize with your fellow members/friends, the ECC is there to accommodate your needs and amplify the experience to make a lasting positive and fun impression. The ECC wouldn’t be a success without every single one of you, especially our returning regulars who come every week just to make the evening more enjoyable.

 

This also increases the draw of newcomers who pass by us and see what’s happening at the club. Thanks to Woodbine Mall for the amazing space, we are drawing new members everyday! I was inspired to talk about how important a calendar is because of this new members photo.

 

AblaNurChessImage

 

On March 29th, Abla Nur was walking through the mall when she noticed the Etobicoke Chess Club in full spring. Being an avid chess fan and wanting to learn more about the game, she knew we operated every Thursday and decided to put a reminder on her calendar (See Above). She arrived on April 5th and received a chess lesson from ECC member Riley for over 2 hours! Afterwards she spoke with Jeremy and Riley with such energy and enthusiasm about her experience at the club and loving the idea of having a chess accessible club for all players of different levels who want to learn, socialize, and play to their hearts content. Every person can truly make a difference and Abla made waves to the club on her official visit!

 

The ECC was made to bring chess players together. We challenge everyone to mark us on your calendar for your next visit. Like what my dad did for me, make us a routine in your daily lives.

 

IMG_20180208_194422412

 

Matt

Leave a comment